V’s Reading Year in Review: 2016

Thanks to my discovering a cozy crochet mystery series by Betty Hechtman the number of books I read in 2016 continued to exceed both 2015 and 2014. I read 34 total books, up from 29 in 2015 and 23 in 2014. I read 15 literary journals, down from 19 in 2015 and the same as in 2014. I suspect the number of literary journal will continue to decrease, as I’m submitting barely anything anymore, much less writing anything except reviews. But, I digress, as I’m wont to do at times.

Back to the stats. Excluding the one anthology I read and all of the review books (since I don’t get to choose those), and also thanks to the cozy crochet mystery series, the authors I read in 2016 were overwhelmingly women. Equality would have been closer if it weren’t for those cozies. Some analytics:

  • Total Literary Journals Read: 15

Another future reading prediction: the number of women will likely continue to exceed the number of men I’ll be reading, based on both what’s already in my queue and a new project I hope to embark on soon: reading every Agatha Christie book starting with her first. I’ve been collecting them at used book stores and antique malls and am halfway there. Yes, I am aware of the fine institution called the library, as a former librarian. But I want to do this my way, so the hunt continues, and has been more fun in person, but it may be expanded to the internet depending on my level of patience, as I had originally wanted to start this 1 January of 2017, not 2018. We’ll see, since my reading plans are often like my gardening plans which is often how life is: the more you plan, the more you’re likely to find yourself not following a plan….

Leave a Reply

