Book Review: Pam Houston, editor, Women on Hunting

A good collection, I only skipped one piece of non-fiction that was way too hateful towards hunters for me to stomach. Not that I am hunting’s biggest fan but I grew up in WNY and lived in the mountains: I know and love plenty of hunters. And I’m trying to work on being less judgmental. Anyway, I love Houston’s writing and many of the other authors included, such as Louise Erdrich, Margaret Atwood, and Annie Dillard, to name just a few of the many talented women who contributed to this fine collection. Hunting contains as many different viewpoints on hunting as there are contributors and is a thought-provoking piece of literature, satisfying in a primal, earth-old way.

Leave a Reply

