Books Read in 2014 & a Goal for 2015: V’s Year in Review

The number of books I read in 2014 seems abysmally low, even when paired with the number of literary journals I read: 23 and 15. Even when I consider that I spent most of the winter reading War and Peace while finishing my own novel. I’m sure there are countless apps to enable me to do better, but since most of the time I would be spending reading I spent writing instead, I’m fine with this, for now.

Funniest thing I discovered in my perusal: the first book I read in 2014 was a reread of Stephen King and Peter Straub’s The Talisman. The first book I read in 2015 was Stephen King’s Joyland.

I have one main reading goal for 2015: catch up on my collection of Roberto Bolaño and Ariel Dorfman, which I’ve been acquiring at used bookstores and remainder sales for the past few years. I’ve also been wanting to reread The Master and Margarita so it may be a good time to review the Russian lit treasures that have been making their way inside, too…

One thought on “Books Read in 2014 & a Goal for 2015: V’s Year in Review

Leave a Reply

